concursos, exposições, curiosidades... sobre arte
escolhidos por MARIA PINTO
(Maria Regina Pinto Pereira)

sexta-feira, 7 de março de 2014

Call for entries for Contemporary Art Society Annual Award 2014

Call for entries for Contemporary Art Society Annual Award 2014 
Proposal deadline: 
23 May 2014, 5pm

Contemporary Art Society59 Central Street
London EC1V 3AF

T +(0) 20 7017 8400
Facebook / Twitter
The Contemporary Art Society is now calling for entries to the Contemporary Art Society Annual Award 2014—a unique commissioning award in the UK.

Established in 2009 and generously supported by the Sfumato Foundation, the award offers 40,000 GBP to a regional museum to commission a major new artwork for their permanent collection. The award encourages museums to collaborate with an artist who is not yet well represented in museum collections in this country. The selected artist will gain an important opportunity to work on a high-profile project with nationwide press exposure. The successful museum will acquire an ambitious work of enduring importance both nationally and internationally.

The award is announced each November in a ceremony attended by artists, museum and gallery professionals and key figures from the art world. Previous recipients of the award include Katerina Šedá with The Graves Art Gallery, Museums Sheffield (2009); Luke Fowler with Hepworth Wakefield and Wolverhampton Art Gallery (2010); Christina Mackie with Nottingham Castle Museum & Art Gallery (2011); Oliver Laric with The Collection & Usher Gallery (2012); and last year's winners, Elizabeth Price with the Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology in partnership with the Pitt Rivers Museum and the Ruskin School of Drawing & Fine Art.

Previous presenters of the award include Grayson Perry, Cornelia Parker, Jeremy Deller and Mark Wallinger.

Elizabeth Price, the 2013 winner, is currently working on her commission for the Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology in Oxford. Price will create a significant new moving image work that explores the archives and collections of the Ashmolean and Pitt Rivers museums. The commission will present and narrate artefacts that relate to the female figure, and will focus on the photographic and archival means of disclosing this figure over time.

Oliver Laric, 2012 winner, launched his commission at the end of 2013. Using cutting-edge digital scanning methods, he has rendered historic objects from The Collection and Usher Gallery, Lincoln in highly-detailed 3D. More than 50 objects from the museum's collection have been scanned and put online at, where they can be downloaded for free and used by anyone. The scans reveal decoration and markings in the stonework normally hidden from view. Laric continues to add new scans to the website as an ongoing project.

The Contemporary Art Society encourages museums, galleries and artists to work together to submit a proposal. Museums must be Members of the Contemporary Art Society to be eligible to apply.

–The deadline for proposals is 23 May 2014. 
–The shortlist will be announced in June. The 2014 judging panel is to be announced shortly.
–The winners will be announced at a ceremony in London on 17 November 2014.

For more information about how to apply to the 2014 award, contact:Robert Dingle, National Network & Strategic Projects Manager
T +44 (0) 20 7017 8405 /

For all press enquiries, contact:Jenny Prytherch, Communications Manager / T +44 (0) 20 7017 8412

Nenhum comentário: